Sedbergh Gala Fell Race Results

Saturday 17th May 2014

Race report | Adobe Reader neededDownload results |Microsoft Excel neededDownload results | Results page

Senior results

Under 17 results

Under 14 results

Under 12 results

Race Report

Sun Shines on Opening Race of 2014 BOFRA Championship Season

100 seniors and 103 juniors basked in the Spring sunshine at the opening race of the 2014 BOFRA Championship season, at Sedbergh Gala on Saturday. In stark contrast to 2013, the route over Winder Fell was firm and dry making for some fast and furious racing.

First home by a clear margin in the senior race was Robb Jebb (Bingley Harriers) in 19.44 mins, followed by 2013 BOFRA Champ, Shaun Godsman (Calder Valley Fell Runners) 40 secs later. Third place went to Alastair Dunn of Helm Hill. 1st lady home was Hazel Robinson (Ambleside), 22nd, followed by Emma Hopkinson (Wharfedale harriers), 31st, and then Lucy Needham (Holmfirth Harriers), 36th.

The race was not without celebrity either as Iwan Thomas, Olympic 400m gold medallist, took part in the race while filming for the BBCs "One Show". He ran well and came in 90th position.

The junior races saw some splendid performances and battles to the finish line. In the U17 race, it was a tough sprint race to the finish between Thomas Nelson (Wharfedale Harriers) and Jimmy Lund (Keighley and Craven). Both were in their first BOFRA race as U17s and Thomas just crossed the line first. Third place was taken by Harry Muir (Wharfedale Harriers). 1st girl was Katherine Lawson (Helm Hill), 12th, with 2nd girl, Mia Senior (Helm Hill) just behind her. Third girl was Hannah Newbold (Wharfedale Harriers), 15th.

In the U14 race Joshua Boyle (Hyndburn) was the clear winner with Euan Brennan (Ilkley Harriers) nearly a minute behind him in second place. Joe Hudson (Keighley and Craven) came in third. 1st girl was Mia Walsh (Helm Hill) 7th with fellow Helm Hill runner Imogen Burrow 2nd, (10th) and Natalya Irvine (Blackburn Runners), 12th, coming in as 3rd girl.

The U12 race saw 2013 winner Fraser Sproul (Kendal) win again by a clear margin. 2nd place went to Harry Bowen (Ambleside) and 3rd U12 was Max Bradley (Ilkley Harriers). 1st U12 girl was Chloe Rylance (Ambleside), 7th. Second girl was Olesia Winder (Unattached), 19th, and third girl was Lauryn Gregg (Rossendale Harriers), 22nd.